Skip to main content

more options

Help

You may select a different topic to view.

File Revoke & Grant

The sender of a file may optionally add or remove recipients after the file has been uploaded. If a file has already been downloaded by a user, sender may still revoke the file, but the user has already downloaded the file.

Steps: Grant

  1. Login to the DropBox.
  2. Select the filename you would like to grant access to.
  3. Select the Grant link on the upper right hand portion of the file details page.
  4. A window pops up and the rest of the page greys out. In the same way you send a file, specify the recipients and choose your options.
  5. Hit the 'Grant' button and the file access will be enabled for the new recipients.

If you chose the option to send an email confirmation, the recipients specified will receive an email message with information about the files and a link to download them. They then go to the DropBox, login and download the files.

Steps: Revoke File Access

  1. Login to the DropBox.
  2. Select the filename you would like to revoke access to
  3. A window pops up and the rest of the page greys out. Select the checkbox next to the users you would like to revoke access to.
  4. Click the Revoke action and accept the confirmation box.

I sent the file, why does it only show Revoke?
Once a file has been deleted from DropBox, you may no longer grant a user access.

Can I grant or revoke multiple files at a time?
Not at this time.