Skip to main content

more options

Help

You may select a different topic to view.

External Users: Grant, Revoke or Delete Files

The sender of a file may add recipients, remove recipients or immediately delete a file after it has been uploaded. To review a file's activity history, select the filename and review the chronological audit.

Steps: Grant (Add Recipients)

You may only add recipients before the file expires.

  1. Choose External User Login if you haven't already done so. This requires you enter a one time use Login PIN sent to your email address. For complete instructions review: External Users - How To - Login
  2. Click on your Outbox.
  3. Select the filename to which you would like to grant access.
  4. Click 'Grant' on the upper right hand portion of the file details page.
  5. A window pops up and the rest of the page greys out. In the same way you send a file, specify the recipients and choose your options.
  6. Click 'Grant' and the file access will be enabled for the new recipients.

If you chose the option to send an email confirmation, the recipients specified will receive an email message with information about the file and a link to download. Recipients then go to DropBox, login and download the file.

Steps: Revoke (Remove Recipients)

Once a file is revoked from a user, it automatically disappears for the recipient and they can no longer download the file.

  1. Choose External User Login if you haven't already done so. This requires you enter a one time use Login PIN sent to your email address. For complete instructions review: External Users - How To - Login
  2. Click on your Outbox.
  3. Select the filename to which you would like to revoke access.
  4. A window pops up and the rest of the page greys out. Select the checkbox next to the users for whom you would like to revoke access.
  5. Click 'Revoke' and accept the confirmation box.

Steps: Delete (Immediate Expire)

Delete forces the immediate expiration of a file.

  1. Choose External User Login if you haven't already done so. This requires you enter a one time use Login PIN sent to your email address. For complete instructions review: External Users - How To - Login
  2. Click on your Outbox.
  3. Select the filename to which you would like to delete.
  4. Click 'Delete' and accept the confirmation box.